Posted in poems

My First Cig Puff!


crushed but smoking cigarette
‘Cigarette Smoking Is Injurious to Health’

Holding that slender stick in between two fingers

Stance of an emperor of a classy empire

The curvy wavy smoke in air lingers

One cig in hand smartens your attire

I remember my first cig puff,

How I held its butt between my lips

An air of curiosity travelled down my core

As a friend lighted for me its tip

The lit cigarette brightened my ecstasy

And with pride I took my first puff

Smoke dint seem finding space inside

And I burst out, it made me cough

That challenged me to attempt once again

This time I felt my smoke-filled chest

I was gagged, hooked for a moment

It was kind of a head rush… at its best!

That whiff of smoke changed everything

Nothing seemed at its best without one puff

Did it taste that good? Hell No!

Then why doesn’t puff after puff seem enough?

Soon my hands, mouth, clothes smelled the same

Seasons didn’t matter, time did no harm

Every time I rushed to a clandestine zone

The moment I received ‘quench the flame’ alarm!

I am not bad, don’t hate me

It’s a compelling force, I can’t shun away

This addiction should only not invite my grave

Be my honest well-wisher, for me pray!

Author:

A wacky thinker, may be cross-wired in head but true to the richness of learning and writing. Like most writers, I believe in writing on a whim to express my emotions. In love with music, art of writing and chicken. I regret not traveling and exploring a lot. That's what I look forward to.

Leave a Reply

